Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rivers1202

Question about Camellias

rivers1202
19 years ago

I purchased 2 Camellia shrubs early last fall. I will admit I have zero experience with these plants but read that they do not like full sun and do well in shade. So I planted both shrubs in a part of my garden with a Northern exposure. This area receives no direct sunlight but it could be described as a "bright shade" area...certainly not deep shade.

My problem is that they don't seem to have grown at all. They had flower buds on them when I purchased them. The buds never did anything at all and finally the frost got them. The plants also had leaf buds on them which haven't done anything either. The plants rooted well, so that isn't the problem. They still look healthy.

Do they grow THAT slowly? Do I need to move them to a spot that receives more sun to encourage better growth? If so, when would it be safe to transplant them?

Any suggestions from Camellia growers would be greatly appreciated. I don't want to lose these plants.

Comments (14)

• Pterostyrax
    19 years ago

They grow slowly at first. It is VERY important that you provide good drainage, otherwise they just languish. I always plant my about halfway down in a hole and then mound up very good topsoil around them spread out to a diameter of 4-5'. This ensures good drainage. You need to water, but camellias are surprisingly drought tolerant once established.

• Dieter2NC
    19 years ago

Are they sasanqua or Japaneese? I have found the Japaneese (spring bloomers, larger leaves) to be far slower in growth than the sasanqua (fall bloomers, smaller leaves). The japaneese typically do not show much growth for the first two years whereas the sasanquas tend to take off right away.

• rivers1202
    Original Author
    19 years ago

They aren't Sasanqua, so I'm assuming they're Japanese. They are the Marie Bracey var.