Return to the Southern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What killed my Wine and Roses Wiegeilias?

Posted by katec67 Arkansas (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 23, 07 at 11:50

Does anyone have any experience with Wiegeilias? I bought 2 about 4 or 5 years ago and planted them on each side of my front steps.One grew beautifully and reached it's mature height (about 4 feet) the other one stayed 2 feet tall and never filled out like the first one even though I fertilized and watered them the same. The larger one began to have dead branches on it, and I trimmed those off. This kept happening for the last few years. It finally died and I removed it. I still have the small one.I bought both from Lowes, and I even called the grower listed on the tag and he didn't have an explanation.I'm starting to wonder if maybe this plant may be susceptible to the same Anthracnose disease that I have been battling in my dogwood trees for the last 6 years.I hope someone might be able to help me, I want to plant some more of them, they are really pretty.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What killed my Wine and Roses Wiegeilias?

I bought 3 wiegeilias and only one has survived. I just assumed they didn't make it through the winter. One keeps coming back, but the others don't.

o
Wiegeilias that don't survive.