Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cnnpronso

New to the area, advice seeker

cnnpronso
14 years ago

My wife and I have moved back to the area to help out her mother while she is battling cancer. She has asked us to plant a veggie garden and we would like to make it as organic as possible. We would like to plant tomatoes, cukes, peppers, etc. but could use some tips as we are from the Pacific North West. Any tips on when and what to plant, shade/temp, and combating insects, especially the "what to watch out for" would be much appreciated.

Thanks and happy planting!

Comments (4)

• atticville
    14 years ago

I'm so sorry I can't answer any of your questions but I would be thrilled to send you a care package of edibles seeds for the South from my list! Email me your new address and I'll pack them up asap. By the time you get them, I'm quite sure experts will have answered all of your questions! Everyone is so friendly here!
    Take care, KK

• xentar_gw
    14 years ago

I am no expert but have just started veggie gardening in Florida as well. Many sources seem to think that it's a little too late to start tomatoes in Florida, because you want them to at least start ripening before it gets too hot. Heat and tomatoes apparently don't go hand in hand.

You may be able to plant them in pots, keep them in full sun until it does start getting too hot, and then moving them into part shade and still get a small harvest.

Of course, I hope that I'm wrong, and hopefully, some of the gardening experts can chime in and at least have a viable alternative.

Good luck.

• louisianagal
    14 years ago

My first advice is to google and then contact the county agent for your county or the master gardeners for your county or city. they will be invaluable and give lots of free advice and booklets.