Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tulanearchstudent

Architecture student working on St Bernard Parish rebuild project

tulanearchstudent
18 years ago

Hello to this board! My name is Ned and I'm an architecture student at Tulane University in New Orleans. This semester we are working on a project toward the rebuilding of St. Bernard Parish, LA. I am wondering if anyone would know any species of southern tree which is capable of withstanding industrial conditions, or where I would be able to find information regarding trees hardy in a southern / louisiana climate. Thanks!

Comments (9)

• harper
    18 years ago

Ned, here's a native tree planting guide for the Baton Rouge area. It should at least give you a starting point.

Harper

Here is a link that might be useful: native trees

• nandina
    18 years ago

Ned,
    The best shade tree for street use and industrial conditions is the native Sugar Hackberry (Celtus laevigata). Grows to about 70' with a spread of 50'. Moderate growth. Or, the common Hackberry (Celtis accidentalis) is another choice. Also, Live oak (Quercus virginiana) or the new form of Sweet gum (Liquidambar styraciflua) which has been bred to be sterile and does not drop the prickly gum balls. Another choice, the upright Natchez Crape myrtle which is disease free and grows to about 20' can be used in groups effectively. If you are looking for smaller trees and more info LANDSCAPE PLANTS OF THE SOUTHEST by Halfacre and Shawcroft would be a helpful resource of ideas for your landscape thoughts.

• shic_2006
    18 years ago

Bless your heart! Selected plants need to reflect the nature of the Church. I strongly recommend the following beauties:

The hands of the praying millions:

Their beautiful hearts are like flowers:

The institution prevailed receiving holy light:
    {{gwi:1259586}}

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    18 years ago