Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marlai

New to gardening (flowers) & need advice on how to start out.

MarlaI
12 years ago

Hi there!! I am new to flower gardening & I just need a little advice!! I'm looking for flowers that I can start out with & each year maybe add to them. I have 2 beds that are in direct sunlight all day (I've learned that is not a good spot for Impatients). I also have 3 beds that my husband & I built around our Bradford Pear trees that get shade most of the day because of the trees. I'm also concerned about what needs to be added to the soil while planting in the hard Georgia clay. If I do well with the flowers this year then next year I will be building a raise bed veggie garden, but that's for the future. Any advice on how or when to start will be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks!

Comments (3)

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    12 years ago

Hi! Welcome to gardening & GardenWeb.

What you're looking for is perennials - plants that come back each spring. Since you're starting from scratch with perennials, don't expect to gauge your success on this year. Longer-lived plants often do not put on much of a show for the first 1-3 years. Perennials are also more expensive, enough so that some gardeners spread their purchases over several years before achieving the variety/amounts they want. You may want to get a few snazzy annuals to liven things up this year, and many gardeners add annuals every year for varied reasons but a common reason is that perennials have a much shorter bloom period than most annuals. It takes some work over the course of a few years to have a perennial garden that has flowers all summer. So, you should also attempt to find plants with interesting and varied foliage that you find attractive in addition to just the flowers.

Garden centers usually have plants separated by annuals (those that die after flowering, or after freezing) and perennials. From there, they should be separated into sun lovers vs. shade lovers.