Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigdoglover

Container plant/trees in full southern sun and wind

bigdoglover
13 years ago

Hello, this is my first time on the gardening forum and I'm mostly a lurker but some-time poster over on decorating and kitchens. I am hoping your expertise can help me.

We are about 20 miles east of Dallas. Our back deck faces straight South, and it gets a lot of wind at times. All we have is a big deck, and a tiny lawn. The deck and lot line ends at the edge of a big stone retaining wall, then a ravine that goes down to a little creek, lots of natural trees and vegetation down there, but too far down to give any shade up where we are. Kind of like being in a tree house. Very beautiful, but...

I can't get anything to stay alive in two big clay pots I have flanking my back door. (BAck of the house is brick, btw.) We brought a pair of beautiful spiral juniper trees with us from California (about 7' tall) and they died. Planted flowers in the pots, they died. Just got some little topiary gardenia "trees" (ball on a stick) because they said "full sun", and they are not doing well at all. I think the wind is drying them out.

What can we put back there? A cactus is out, lol! Something pretty and green. To make matters worse, it sometimes freezes in the winter. Even worse, I am not a plant person at all, and our gardener is pretty much just into mowing lawns.

Thanking you all for any help you can offer.

Comments (9)

• merrybookwyrm
    13 years ago

For a full sun (or almost full sun), windy, south-facing location, you will need to water, water, water, somewhen between June and September. That's a given, especially if your plants get large, so you might need to look into drip irrigation for anything you grow in containers on the deck.

There are many gracious, helpful gardeners on the Texas regional forum as well as on this forum, so some experts are likely to help you out soon!