Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
als99_gw

1st Gardening Success (so far anyway)...Sunflowers

als99
18 years ago

Hello. I'm new to gardening--starting on week #2--yes, I got a late start this season, but my 4 yr old has been driving me crazy about sunflowers and marigolds. In 7 days, the only thing that has sprouted are my sunflowers. (I am still watching and fervently awaiting my shasta daisies, larkspur, and most importantly marigolds--the latter being "easy to grow" my foot.) I have about 15 sunflower plants between 2.5-4 inches tall in a long rectangular planter. Pretty soon, I'll have to re-plant them in the ground. As I've never done anything like this before and consider myself to have a "brown thumb", I was wondering what I need to do to replant in terms of spacing, depth, staking (do sunflowers require support?), and preparing the ground (fertilizer? compost? mulch?). Thanks in advance for your help. It is much needed and greatly appreciated.

--Amy

P.S. Random thought: Perhaps the reason my sunflowers have really taken off is that when planting I mixed 2/3 potting soil with 1/3 soil from YARD whereas I only used potting soil for the marigolds, larkspur, and shasta daisies.

P.S.S. In the planter, it's easy to see/check soil's moisture. I'm worried about over/under watering. I have no clue how to gage/measure watering once they are in the yard.

Comments (3)

• jap373
    18 years ago

Hey there!