Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimtnc

Gardenias ... yellow leaves ( ad nauseum )

jimtnc
17 years ago

I put down the cornmeal, and have applied the Epsom salts. How long should I wait for the next treatment...acid fertilizer or chelated iron?!?

I just transplanted 4 weeks ago from an afternoon sun location to a part-shaded area, so before I'm chastised about transplant shock...I'm already aware but I was having problems prior to the move (probably the full sun thing), which is what spurned the transplant on.

Anyway, I'm not a gardener, per se, and I'm new to Gardenias (but have heard all the horror stories), but since I've been reading about all these home remedies I thought I'd give these tips a try. Since they're newly transplanted I haven't fertilized, but when should they be?

Comments (9)

• flowermum
    17 years ago

I have two gardenias and when I notice them yellowing I sprinkle some of the Bayer's Azalea, Camellia & Rhododendron Fast Acting pellets onto them. I just sprinkle around the drip line and water, and this vanquishes any yellowing within two or three days.

I also use this for my vincas when they start yellowing.

I apply this whenever I see them yellowing; I assume my soil is void of the nutrients it needs and I use it on an as-needed-basis.

I hope this was helpful
    : )

• jimtnc
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Okay flowermum, I'll try that. Thanks.

• jimtnc
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks scandia. I didn't know if I could expect the yellowing to continue because of transplant shock, or other causes. The yellowing seems to be subsiding and there's a lot of new growth up top, so maybe this is gonna work.

Will that Miracle Grow Evergreen work for Camillias, etc too? I'd like to get something that works for several plants, if possible. If not, no big deal.

Can I expect the Gardenias to not bloom this year, and possibly next because of transplanting?

• the_virginian
    17 years ago