Return to the Southern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Gardenias ... yellow leaves ( ad nauseum )

Posted by jimtnc 7b NC (My Page) on
Wed, May 24, 06 at 6:45

I put down the cornmeal, and have applied the Epsom salts. How long should I wait for the next treatment...acid fertilizer or chelated iron?!?

I just transplanted 4 weeks ago from an afternoon sun location to a part-shaded area, so before I'm chastised about transplant shock...I'm already aware but I was having problems prior to the move (probably the full sun thing), which is what spurned the transplant on.

Anyway, I'm not a gardener, per se, and I'm new to Gardenias (but have heard all the horror stories), but since I've been reading about all these home remedies I thought I'd give these tips a try. Since they're newly transplanted I haven't fertilized, but when should they be?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Gardenias ... yellow leaves ( ad nauseum )

I have two gardenias and when I notice them yellowing I sprinkle some of the Bayer's Azalea, Camellia & Rhododendron Fast Acting pellets onto them. I just sprinkle around the drip line and water, and this vanquishes any yellowing within two or three days.

I also use this for my vincas when they start yellowing.

I apply this whenever I see them yellowing; I assume my soil is void of the nutrients it needs and I use it on an as-needed-basis.

I hope this was helpful
: )

o

Okay flowermum, I'll try that. Thanks.

o

I use Miracle Grow EVERGREEN plant food. 3 days in a row then wait for 2 weeks then more for 3 days. Keep following that routine until the leaves get greener. You should see the leaves turn green within the first days of doing this.

** MIX The Miracle Grow powder with WATER as per the instructions for proper mixing. SORRY I had to add the MIX WITH WATER comment I actually gave a friend that same advice, but didn't think I needed to say MIX WITH WATER; she threw the concentrated powder on her plants..(No Kidding)