Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tiarella_gw

new southern garden!?

tiarella
17 years ago

I will be moving south next year sometime and I'm going to need a lot of advise on what to grow/not grow when I get there. I will be moving into the western part of SC near Clemson University. I have been growing perennials for over 25 years in NJ and I realize there many plants that we have in common like some of the native plants. I have been a member of the NJ native plant Society and Deep Cut Orchid Society. I am not a really big fan of annuals but they do have their place. I grow iris bulbs perennials native plants shade/ spring ephemerals hellebores. I have 3 rock gardens, Sun and Shade gardens, wet garden, butterfly and native plant gardens. I also collect plants that once I get interested I am looking for different forms and colors. I also grow houseplants and orchids. My SIL And BIL live in the area where we are moving. Are there any must see nurseries or gardens in that area? Can I grow tulips, and other bulbs? I also realize there are many plants that will be new to me. Any suggestions on must haves? I can't wait to get started!

Comments (5)

• woody_ga
    17 years ago

I think the answer to all you're questions is "Yes!"

I think Wayside Gardens and Parks Seed are now too far from Clemson, and I think you'll find a lot of great nurserys near you. Here in Georgia we have all kinds of nurserys.

I don't think you'll find a big difference in the plants. One thing that comes to mind is that some plants that would be full sun in NJ may be part sun in SC. Our afternoon sun can be brutal.

I'm sure others will chime in.

• buford
    17 years ago

tirella - as a transplanted NYker, I say welcome! You are going to love it down here - it's a gardners paradise.