Return to the Southern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
when to start planning a garden

Posted by zoes_mom_growsthings 7a (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 8, 07 at 7:09

hi, this is my first post, but i've been snooping around for a while.

i'm in the process of building my first house, in lumpkin county. the land is set up pretty well to have a garden in the back, and i'm very excited about finally getting to grow things.

i was curious as to when all of you start planning your garden for next year, and if you have any tips for someone about to start a vegetable garden for the first time.

i'm a novice gardener, but my father and mother in law have neon green thumbs, and will be coming to work in the garden as well. so, any tips for a novice in general would be great.

thanks a ton!

catherine

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: when to start planning a garden

If you're in Georgia, try posting this on the Georgia forum. This forum doesn't get as much traffic as the individual state ones.

o

why wait? you can have a fall veggie garden this year. i am in zone 8, and can grow things up until around November, December if we have a warm winter.

as to planning for next year, get a notebook and anytime you think of what you want to plant, write it down. draw out a grapgh of the garden and label where you will put each item. if you have more than you have room for, either make the garden bigger or cut back on a few things. most beans and peas will keep producing after each picking, so you may only want 1-2 rows of them and leave them all season.

plan on staggering plantings, as one crops yeilds and dies off, replace it with a different plant.

i am already thinking of how to layout next years plants, and i have 5 or 6 rows not even planted this year yet!

o

I live in Ga. zone 7 about 25 miles east of Atlanta and I find it is better to plant my summer vegatable garden after the nighttime temperature reaches at least a steady 50 degree's.