Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimisue32

Mailbox Flowers/Plant

kimisue32
17 years ago

Hi, I am new here and to gardening. I know nothing about it actually. I am trying to redo my flower beds because all the plants have died and it needs a lot of work. Since I am new at it I thought I would start easy. I have weeded all of the beds and now need to start puting in plants and flowers. I thought I would do the easiest first which brings me to my question:

I have a residental double brick mailbox. It has my mailbox an empty center and the other mailbox. The empty center is 11 inches tall, 20 inches long and 17 inches wide. The ground is visable but it is very hard dirt with bits of concrete around the bottom. I am just wondering what type of plant or flowers I could plant there (prefer color but want it to look nice all year)or if I would need to put a potted plant instead? I live in Arkansas where the weather reaches the mid to high 90's and very humid in the summer and the winters are mild with rare snow or ice.

Thank you for your help on this, as I said I know nothing about gardening so any imput would be appreciated.

Comments (7)

• crackergal
    17 years ago

Hi kimisue, Welcome to GW and to gardening!
    I'm a bit southward of you so I can't suggest any good plants. I always suggest that folks check out their local "mom and pop" nurserys to discover good plants for their gardens.
    However, I will suggest that you find a nice pot for the mailbox garden. From your description of the soil, a container garden will be a lot easier and quicker too. The main disadvantage to container gardens is that you have to water them more often, and some containers are pricey.
    I've had good luck with container gardens in the "disadvantaged" areas of my yard. ;-)
    Hope that this helps, Good luck and happy gardening.
    Cindy

• wgafaw
    17 years ago