Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jmckemie_gw

Is there anything I can do now...

jmckemie
15 years ago

to prepare areas for plants this fall and for next year? I have several areas that I want to put different plants, but I don't know what exactly I want and I know the area needs a lot of work, but I'm not exactly sure what to do. Some areas are overgrown with monkey grass, others are barren except for the weeds....

I read somewhere about when starting a new plot, laying down newspaper and then covering it with dirt or something would help prepare the ground for later.

I'm an utter novice in the garden with all sorts of grand plans and no idea how to get started....

If some kind soul would be so generous as to offer a couple of suggestions or point me in the right direction or to a good resource, I would be eternally grateful.

If it helps, I intend to put in a number of hydrangeas, butterfly bushes and other plants in the "cottage" and "butterfly" theme.

Thank you!!!!!

Jen

Comments (3)

• vicki7
    15 years ago

I believe you are referring to "lasagna" gardening. From what I understand (someone else may know more than I do about this) you put down newspapers or cardboard, wet it thoroughly, and then start putting layers of whatever you have that will compost... Old leaves, grass clippings, veggie peels, coffee grounds, peat moss, etc. It will break down and decompose, making a good place to grow things without lots of digging. Gardenweb has a couple of forums that have really good threads about this, seems like maybe Organic gardening and Accessible gardening forums. You can go there and do a search for "lasagna gardening". Hope this helps. Vicki

• louisianagal
    15 years ago