Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cindyv12

novice gardener seeking advice

cindyv12
18 years ago

Hi, I'm new to gardening, and know absolutely nothing. We live on 3.5 acres of land with only 2 trees in the entire area. I have 2-3 projects in mind, which include planting some trees. My first project is for the north side of the house, which is in full sun all day. I am in desperate need of some ideas about what I could do in a 40 by 20 foot space there. These are the flowers and plants that I know I like:

roses

irises

orchids

crepe myrtles

palms which remain small, (not big trees)

tulips (odd, aren't I?)

I would like to have some ground cover in that area as well.

I basically like only perrenials.....I love the fragrance and the look of gardenias, but noticed how they turn brown early on.

Can some of you more-seasoned gardeners offer any suggestions? I would certainly appreciate the benefit of your wisdom.

Comments (4)

• lisa455
    18 years ago

The best thing you can do is to prepare the soil. Add compost and till up the dirt. I have done one bed a year for the past several years. I have also raised my beds four inches because of drainage issues. I have mostly full sun also. For fast growing low maintenance trees, I have planted crepe myrtles, vitex (chaste tree), and dwarf pear trees. I really like evergreen shrubs for structure - The very best for easy low maintenance full sun (2-3 feet tall) are indian hawthorne. For part sun and heighth pittosporum and loropetalum are also fairly easy. As far as roses, I have several. Your best bets are the old-fashioned sgrub roses - chinas, teas and polyanthas. Buy mildew resistant varieties because of the heat and humidity. These old fashioned roses bloom from spring to frost. As far as perennials, the very best is the evergreen daylily - no holes in the winter in the garden. Also, low-growing dwarf