Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
randawii

Help and Advice for My first gardenia

Randawii
10 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am new to this so please bare with me :)

I got this beautiful Gardenia as a gift, it was delivered two days ago and since then I was reading online how to care for it and so but I am really overwhelmed and worried. It looks healthy to me, it has few buds and I'm expecting them to bloom soon?

I have few questions and concerns, I really don't want to harm it and need to make sure it won't die in winter.

First thing is, I live in NJ and it is almost a 100 here, I don't have a sunny window, but the brightest part of my apartment is the kitchen so I keep it there most of the day where I don't have an Ac, but I'm sure the temperature is not between 60-70. I will put it on my fire escape from 9 am-1 pm because thats the only time it gets some sunlight.

I am watering it and it is draining the extra water pretty fast.

I already have a list of what to buy for it, an organic soil and an organic fertilizer for acid loving plants, organic soluble water all purpose fertilizer, a bigger size pot for repotting later,also I might get the artificial light and some insecticidal spray.

I pulled it out of the pot to inspect the roots they look healthy to me? I am not sure I will upload a picture, but I feel there is no soil left it is all roots and you can even see them from under its current pot.

I am sorry to make this long post but I really want to make sure I am doing the right thing my questions are:

is it getting enough light like this? Should I buy the artificial light?

if it is too hot in the kitchen should I bring it to my room and use pebbles with water to increase humidity? I have an AC in my room

Should I repot it now or after it is done blooming? And if so should I fertilize it when I repot or just water?

If I don't repot it now should I fertilize it? and how often?