Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bandit_2009

Help My Garden dies overnight!

bandit_2009
14 years ago

This is my first post and if I am in the wrong place, I am sorry. My garden is 24' X 40' raised bed, 4 ft beds with 2' walkways. Plenty of cow/horse manure is added between season and a heavy mulch of hay is on all the beds to cut out weeds. Soil is very loose and rich. I have been gardening for about 25 years and this garden has been established since 2000. I have three plantings of black-eyed peas, eggplants, tomatos, peppers, soybeans, onions(for green onions) okra, basil, rosemary, and a few other odds and ends. I inspect and pick daily. Went out the other day and pulled a bunch of veggies out and everything looked fine. A few squash bugs that I picked and disposed of, but overall everything looked great. The next day we had about two inches of rain. When the rain cleared I went to the garden for my daily inspection. There was no standing water in the garden itself but was on the permeter of the garden. Half the garden was dead! Tomatoes, peppers, okra, one basil plant and many others were dead. Looked like lack of water, which I know was not the case. Eggplant, black-eyed peas and soybeans were fine. And one basil, planted in a different part of the garden was fine. The rosemary, that has been there for like four years also died. Any ideas on what happened? I have since pulled most of the tomatoes, and all the peppers. I pruned two of the tomatoes and the one basil that got hit and they have actually come back or so it seems. Any ideas on what happened. Can a garden get too much water? There was no standing water in the garden, just the grass walkway around the perimiter. I accidently stepped on one of the beds, which I never walk on, and sank about six inches. Any ideas on what happened in less then a 24 hour period?

Comments (6)

• louisianagal
    14 years ago