Return to the Southern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Carolina Jasmine - To Prune or Not to Prune

Posted by ddrinsp z9 TX (My Page) on
Tue, Aug 29, 06 at 9:28

Have 2-year old Carolina Jasmine (6 feet tall - 4 feet diameter) planted on trelis; receives full sun. older leaves turned brown and died although there is alot of new growth at top. Probably from our extremely hot summer here on the Texas Gulf Coast, although I water deeply once a week. Question - should I cut back this fall or just prune the unsightly branches? This is my first attempt at Carolina Jasmine. Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Carolina Jasmine - To Prune or Not to Prune

The vine is very hardy & would probably appreciate the trim. It will come back even thicker & stronger next spring. It might benefit too from a shot of fertilizer when the new growth starts then. Aren't the yellow trumpets exquisite?

o

We have ours growing over an unused mail box. After a few years it became very large and all the inside was dead. We pruned it down tot he two main stalks, and the next fall it was beautiful again. I think unless they are allowed to like grow up a tree, they tend to die out on the in side of the "clump" So go ahead and prune They love it.

o

I know this thread is very old, but I was searching for how/when to trim my Jasmine.. It also is about 6-7 ft tall on a trellis.. I messed up and cut mine early this spring, and I guess cut most of the blooms off, so it only bloomed near the bottom on the old wood. I realize now I should wait till Fall to trim, but I want to do a massive trim.. can I cut this down, all the way to where it is only 1-2 ft tall? Any input much appreciated, I don't want to kill it, but would love to cut way down and let it start over as it is just too big for the area, and the bottom stems are up to 1 1/2" in diameter now. Thank you!

o