Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladybug9a

Need Help!

Hi everyone,

I am new to Texas, and new to gardening in a way (I was in NY for about 7 years, previously from India), and need advice. I just bought a house and need help!

I have some questions about bulbs, I tried posting in the bulbs forum, but people there seem to be from colder climate, so want to get advice from people in the know!

Are there any varieties of Tulips or Daffodils that are perennials?

Are Glads, Ranunculus, Freesia, dahlia, crocus etc perennials?

How about Alliums?

As you can tell, I am looking for bulbs/flowers that return year after year.

I would really appreciate any help!

Comments (8)

• pfmastin
    18 years ago

crekha,
    Daffodils and Tulips are perennial bulbs, however, here in North Carolina (also a warm climate)...tulips do not rebloom reliably due to the lack of chilling hours required. Daffodils do great, though, and are pest proof since they are toxic. Most people who grow tulips in my zone treat them as annuals and don't expect rebloom. The species tulips are better at returning the following spring than the hybrids....if you really want to try tulips, they might be a good choice. They're not as showy, but very lovely.

Here is a link that might be useful: Texas A&M Home Horticulture

• lisa455
    18 years ago

Glads do very well in full sun and well drained location.

• timde
    18 years ago

Bulbs are very sensitve, I order to really keep them coming back every year your soil conditions must be perfect! the best way to keep them is by pulling them and properly storing them every year. I am sure in these wamer climates they are much harder to keep in the ground all year long. even in nj with my sandy soil I pulled them every year!

• angiebug
    18 years ago