Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
savgarden

spider webs on oak trees

savgarden
19 years ago

I am new to this, so this may be an easy questions. We have several oak trees in our yard. On some of them the trunk is covered in what looks like spider webs for about 10 feet high. What can I do to get rid of this?

Comments (10)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    19 years ago

I've never heard psocids called cattle ticks! Interesting. Anyway, these harmless little insects often find oak trees a good place to take up house keeping. Their common name is 'bark lice', but that is simply because of their appearance.

I would consider them a totally harmless, benign presence and just admire those webs they make.

• PeaBee4
    19 years ago

I guess they are the same thing we call Tree Lice. They do make interesting webby things.

Don't worry about them. They may not come back next year.
    PB

• purplemoon0130
    19 years ago

Right, no need to worry about those webs. They look weird. The first time I saw them on my trees, I panicked! I called our local Agricultural Dept. and they said it was harmless. I had them on my oaks last month, too. Louisiana here, by the way. They come about every 2-3 yrs. on my trees.

• sweetsushi_att_net
    12 years ago

I haven't seen anything on the trunk but rather the webs are at the ends of the bottom row of branches. My concern is whether or not they will suffocate and kill those parts of the branches.

12 years ago

addie, since yours' is a different subject and this post is ancient, you might want to consider posting your own brand new thread and include some pictures.

• karen24jones_yahoo_com
    12 years ago