Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maryt_gardener

Starting a temporary Perenial garden

maryt_gardener
17 years ago

I am very new to the south. Just moved here a week or so ago. I"ve gardened in Wisconsin and in North Dakota. I LOVE perenials and shrubs but we are renting a house possibly for as much as 2 years.

The last place we lived was Fargo ND and we had to rent there too, I did have a nice perenial garden there, though small, and I dug and gave away the plants before we moved here.

What I would like to do here is plant perenials that I will be able to take with me when we buy our own house. We expect to do that in a year or two. (we always used to own our own home but hubby was out of work for a period and hence we had to sell and relocate for work--has a good job now, but we need to rebuild credit)

Anyhow-- I would LOVE to try growing some of the things that grow in the south--Gardenias especially, and other of the gorgeous plants I've seen.

Wondered if anyone has good plant suggestions, a good book to reccomend?

I have no idea--should I start anything now or wait til Spring--and when is spring here? We live in Charlotte NC.

we have a nice sized yard and I can plant here. I have some experience with propogating methods, but very little with tropical or subtropical plants.

Hubby's favorite flower is gardenia. I think they grow here correct?

thanks for any helpful hints! Mary

Comments (6)

• buford
    17 years ago

Yes, gardenias grow well here (I'm north of Atlanta). There are many varieties that grow well in large pots, so you could start them now and then just take the pots with you when you move.

There are several variety of gardenias, and some are more sensitve to cold. I have onloy been down here 6 years (originally from NY) but I have heard that if it gets below 10, you can lose gardenias. Apparently there was a very long cold spell back in th 90s and many people lost gardenias.