Return to the Square Foot Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Suggestions for planning a Fall Flower Garden

Posted by likastarz9 none (My Page) on
Wed, Jan 25, 12 at 9:53

Hi,
New to the site. I've posted this in the Wisconsin and the Tips and Techniques forums too (not sure which is best!).

Basically, I'm just looking for suggestions on which flowers/how to plan my garden so it's full of as many beautiful fall flowers as possible, as cheaply as possible. I want to see if I can grow flowers to add to my wedding decor, so I'm specifically looking at fall flower suggestions (not planning a spring/summer garden).

I am trying to focus on flowers that are in the white and orange color families, so if you know specific breeds I should be looking for, that would help.

I have about 100 sq. feet of garden. Tends to be thicker-clay soil. I don't know if its acidic/alkaline. I'm pretty new to gardening, so I'll take any suggestions....i.e, how to prepare the garden, maintaining it, what flowers to NOT put next to each other, etc. I'm in zone 5.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Suggestions for planning a Fall Flower Garden

Are you trying to plant a fall *perennial* garden then? Or just a garden for this fall for the special event?

If you were planning a perennial garden, you would be looking for fall bloomers, like chrysanthemum (comes in yellows, orange, reds, purples and whites) and asters. But then you would have to make sure that they came into bloom at the right time for the wedding--which isn't something that I would risk unless I were very experienced with the plant.