Return to the Square Foot Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Kohlrabi

Posted by west_texas_peg 7b West Cen TX (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 11, 09 at 13:24

Does anyone have a suggestion on how many per square foot?

This is my first time to plant kohlrabi; last week I started White Vienna Kohlrabi & have 20 sprouted. When can I put in the garden? My last freeze date is around the first of April (most of the time--last year we had a surprise frost after Easter and year before last it snowed on Good Friday!).

Peggy

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Kohlrabi

"When seedlings are 2 to 3 inches high, thin or transplant to 6 to 8 inches apart."

Four per square sounds reasonable to me. I'd set them out around April 15 and be ready to provide a bit of protection if a late frost is expected. You may have started yours a bit early.

Granny

Here is a link that might be useful: Annie's Kitchen Garden

o

This info is from a planting schedule for another Texas county with our planting zone: Feb 15-Mar 1 Kohlrabi (transplants)

That is why I started them last week. I thought about putting it in a container on my enclosed porch until I could put the container out.

I'm not familiar with this veggie but my husband likes turnips so I felt like he would enjoy it. It's low carb which is good for his low carb diet.

Peggy

o

LOL, I guess "west texas" peg should have given me a clue that you aren't in the northwest! Sometimes I forget not everyone here is from Washington state!!!

Granny

Here is a link that might be useful: Annie's Kitchen Garden

o

I've heard great things about Kohlrabi. My package of the early purple vienna said to keep them at 4 inches, so 4/ft sounds right. This is my first year with them, also, so we'll see.

o