Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarahrose_gw

Strawberries in Square Foot Gardens

sarahrose
18 years ago

Hi, I am new to Square Foot Gardening. Am planning my 1st one this spring. Cannot find any info on doing strawberries the SF way.

How do you grow strawberries in you square foot gardens?

Thank you.

Comments (35)

• magnolias4ever
    18 years ago

My mother-in-law has 2 - 4x8 beds. The very first spring she planted strawberries in one of the beds and her vegetables in the other. Needless to say, the strawberries totally took over the 4x8 bed that she planted them in LOL. Be careful -- they will grow like fire. Actually, I think you're really supposed to dig them up every year and re-plant them and thin them out.

• fuzzy
    16 years ago

I know this is an old post, but thought this page might help others searching for info:

Here is a link that might be useful: Mel's strawberries

• snibb
    16 years ago

The corrrect way is to put 4 strawberry plants in each square. Then, you have to make sure that you keep the "runners" trimmed. That way, you will keep all the energy of the plant in the main stem creating larger(and usually juicer-believe it or not!)strawberries. You get a killer crop doing it this way. I have one 4X4 vinyl box dedicated to nothing buy strawberries. You can't buy better strawberries than we grow. Send me your email address and you can take a look at mine if you would like.

• preciousamy
    16 years ago

snibb,
    Do you snip off every runner? And will the strawberry plants come back the next year if you eliminate the daughter plants? Sorry, I'm new to gardening, so I'm full of questions! *wink* I would love to see your strawberry box, please post your pictures or email me at no1precious@msn.com. Thanks so much!!! :)
    P.S. I just bought some bareroot fruits, when should I plant them? Also, should I expect fruit from them this season?
    Happy Gardening!
    Keep Smiling, Amy :)

• snibb
    16 years ago