Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brownli

Very new - please help if you can with planning...

brownli
15 years ago

I'm hoping that someone here can give me a push - I'm new to gardening so regardless of plant or method, it's a bit overwhelming for me. My husband will be building my box(es) - as many as I want "he says"....so in that regard the sky's the limit! I'm considering 3 ea of 4x4 with trellises as needed. The placement of the boxes, however, better facilitate trellises on the east side instead of the north. There is a 6' wooden fence approximately 3-4' behind the location of the boxes, also on the east side. The boxes will receive full, unobstructed western sun so I'm hoping the trellises on the East will not be a negative.

We've decided on the vegetables we'd like to have and know that we would like succession planting where feasible for a continuous garden. All this said - the more I read the more difficult this has become for me. I'm so stuck on what goes where with consideration of height or what can be planted next to keep a continual crop, what grows best next to what, and the list goes on.

So I guess I'm appealing to any of you who would be willing to share some time to help me plot my vegetables, some fruit and maybe some color as well. Perhaps I'm looking to start too large - but it's in my nature and feel ready for the challenge. I'm planning for this garden to feed a family of four (with interested neighbors watching). Too much produce never scares me - I never waste that which can be shared, canned, stored or frozen. Again, I have space for minimally 3 ea of 4x4, could do more/less or variations.

Any help provided or offered will be so appreciated. Here are the vegetables of interest:

Broccili

Spinach

Swiss Chard

Lettuce - red leaf, buttercrunch or other green

Onion - Super Sweet or Vidalia, Sweet red, Cimmaron, green, shallots - I love onions - any suggestions welcome

Carrots

Parsnips

Radishes

Potatoes

Garlic