Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarahs_garden

growing beans up corn stalks

sarahs_garden
20 years ago

Hi, I saw an animated picture of this technique on one of these forums, and I wanted to try it to save space. But before I do, I wanted to make sure people actually DO it, and that what I saw wasn't just a 'cutesy cartoon'...

So does anyone know about it? I want to grow some Kentucky blue pole beans up some Sun and Stars corn. Will this work??

This is my first year with a veggie garden, so any advice would be greatly appreciated. I really love this forum, b/c it gives such great ideas about saving space :)

~Sarah

Comments (12)

• dnelmo
    20 years ago

I am almost certain that Native Americans would plant beans, corn and squash together in the manner you describe. I recently read an article about this method in, I believe, Mother Earth News. This evening I will try and find the article and post more information about the method.

David

• sarahs_garden
    Original Author
    20 years ago

Thank you so much! I'll be looking for your post, I really want to try doing this because it will save me so much space!
    ~Sarah

• mowarren
    20 years ago

it works but makes it so you have to search to find the beans. also some of the stalks bent under weight of the beans so may want to tie tops of the corn to a top string to hold the weight.

• dnelmo
    20 years ago

Sarah: