Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skunk_cabbage

depth for planting asparagus

skunk_cabbage
15 years ago

I was wondering how deep a bed to build for planting asparagus here in western CO. My neighbor had plants in a regular garden that froze when planted at 6". Should I go with a 12" bed (4x4, SFG), or will 6" do if I insulate with hay bales in the winter?

Comments (10)

• newdadinky
    15 years ago

I have no personal experience but found an article from Canada that mentioned the deeper you plant the crowns, the less production you'll get. But you can plant up to 16 inches deep in areas of deep freezes.

Are you planning on using mel's mix for your asparagus? I'm starting a bed this spring too and wonder whether I should amend the soil deeper than 6 inches. Or just till a little, then fill the top 6 inches with mel's mix.

• jbest123
    15 years ago

Asparagus roots go strait down are heavy feeders and need a sweet soil (alkaline). I prepared my bed last fall and spaded leaf mold to a depth of 10" with a 10" box above that. I filled the box with 100% horse manure compost and several buckets of wood ashes. You must have miss read the article. There is no way you can plant the crowns 16" deep and have them survive.

John

Here is a link that might be useful: Johns Journal

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    15 years ago

Your depth of crowns is a given, as explained above. Mulching is the answer, straw bales will do it.

Dan

• jbest123
    15 years ago

Also, I would not use Mel's Mix. the sphagnum peat is acidic and should not be used. Use coco coir or something natural.

John

Here is a link that might be useful: Johns Journal

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    15 years ago