Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sctn_gw

New to sfg - filling up my squares

sctn
12 years ago

Hi, I'm new to square foot gardening and want to try it this year. I want to start small with a single 4x4 and 2 2x4s (for large plants and vines). I'm planning on the following:

Yellow Squash

Winter squash

3 kinds of tomatoes

Cucumbers

Peas

Beans

Lettuce

Spinach

Carrots

Kale

This seems like more than enough to start with, but my 4x4 is half empty - do I plant extra to fill it in, leave it empty, plant flowers...

What do you recommend?

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• lgteacher
    12 years ago

You can plant one borage plant to attract pollinators. You only need one, because it will self-sow and grow new plants all over. Marigolds add color and some say they repel insect pests.

You might also want some herbs, like basil and parsley if you like to cook. Some of your plants are from different growing seasons. For example, peas, winter squash, lettuce, and kale are cool season plants. Tomatoes, beans, and yellow squash are warm season.

Here is a link that might be useful: What's Growing On?

• ralleia
    12 years ago

lgteacher has excellent suggestions. To add a few more possibilities

* nasturtiums--a flower with edible flowers and leaves. Use as a garnish on salads to add a little peppery flavor
    * cover crops to build your soil or attract beneficial insects. Buckwheat, clovers, vetch, oats--there are very many possibilities.
    * soybeans?

• quiltbea
    12 years ago