B = beet

C = cilantro

PO = potato

O = onion

R = rosemary

CA = carrot

L = lettuce

G = garlic

I also have marigold and nasturtium I'm thinking of putting in there. My space is 4 x 10. But it looks like I won't be using it all.

I'm new to gardening, too. So maybe I should cut back to 4x4? Thanks for your thoughts/feedback. Please be gentle. ;)

Comments (19)

• editornj
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Forgot to add: plans for a trellis at top, which is north.

• engineeredgarden
    15 years ago

editornj - you have nothing to fear in this forum, most of us are nice. The bed that you have drawn - what are the actual dimensions of it? Could you please list the varieties of each veggie, so that we'll know if the toms are determinate/indeterminate, and also the squash - is it bush or vining? Don't worry, you'll get lots of help in here.

EG

Here is a link that might be useful: EG's Garden Blog

• ribbit32004
    15 years ago

I'm assuming PB is pole bean? Does x2 mean two plants or two squares?

• editornj
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Eek! Sorry about that.

PB is pole bean. x2 means two plants.

My space is 4x10, but this grid shows 4x5. I don't think I'll plant the whole box, since that might be overwhelming for me.

I got most of my seeds from Park Seed. I have no idea what I'm doing, and just chose seeds because they were on sale or the description sounded like it would work for me.

Squash: Summer Medley. Park says it's "upright" 3'x3'. (Does this need four squares? I wasn't sure...)
    Vining tomato: Tomato Cherry Sweetie.
    Bush tomato: Tomato Fabulous Hybrid, determinate.
    Eggplant: Eggplant Lavender Touch Hybrid; upright 2.5'x3'

What else? Thank you SO much.

Oops, I forgot to add sweet peppers. Don't know where I'll stick them.

• jleiwig
    15 years ago

I think your tomatoes are too close together, and I doubt you'll get 4 in a square. I also think you could put more lettuce in your squares.

• engineeredgarden
    15 years ago