Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lombill

your real-world SFG experience

lombill
12 years ago

I'm a newbie considering my first SFG. I've read Mel's book and I'm looking for advice from those of you who have real-world experience with it.

For example, did you find certain materials worked better than others? Or some plants were mistakes to plant in SFGs? Or something only a SFG-er finds out from trial and error?

Thanks!

Comments (17)

• ralleia
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I've found that certain types of especially vigorous vegetables were best grown OUTSIDE the SFG, reserving the compact and carefully managed SFG space for smaller plants.

In particular, indeterminate tomato plants grow into absolute monsters if they have favorable conditions. I prefer to grow them in a separate area supported by home fashioned reinforcing wire tomato cages. There they are free to turn into a jungle of tomato and drop any fruit that I've missed without making my SFG impassable!

I also tend to grow the summer squash away from the SFG, since they can tend to trail a bit. Even if you try to direct them away from the other squares, having it sprawling into your footpaths makes passage a bit more challenging.

And parsley I decided was preferable to grow in its own dedicated area. I always want to have enough to share with the black swallowtail caterpillars, and trying to germinate those parsley seeds that can take two weeks or more, with seeds that are not viable very long and then fiddle with the transplants was a bit of a pain.

So now I simply let parsley plants go to seed in their dedicated areas, and in the spring I have more than enough parsley seedlings for me, the swallowtails, and a few friends that want a transplant. I love it when plants take care of their own seeding! :)

• gunnersm8
    12 years ago