Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sweetbrat

Using concrete blocks to build beds?

sweetbrat
20 years ago

I'm going to be building my raised garden beds soon. After looking at different types of lumber and stuff, I thought of using concrete blocks. They're 8"x8"x16", so I should only need 14 of them per bed, since the beds would only have to be 1 block tall. Has anyone else used concrete blocks? I know they're not very pretty, but they're inexpensive (which is important right now), and I won't have to worry about them rotting. If you've used them (or know someone who has), I'd appreciate any information you can give me. Thanks!

Comments (68)

• the_ancient_one
    19 years ago

CINDER BLOCK GARDENS: The only way to garden, especially when getting up in years. I have been gardening this way for over 20 years. The book CINDER BLOCK GARDENS by Lynn Gillespie, is in my opinon, the bible on how to make it happen. The book covers just about all you will ever need to know about using the "cinder" (old term, I think today, it would be refered to as a "concret") block you have the flexibility to redesign your garden layout whenever you desire. I've never had any problems with "leaking"... if you are watering on a regular basis, the "soil" in the garden will retain what is needed... but if you are a "heavy" waterer, you might experience some leakage... but that is the bed, telling you to lighten up on the water. I have buildt my gardens us to three blocks high... makes it a lot earier to tend the garden when you can park the "behind" on the edge of the bed and not have to stope over so much.

• Ray Scheel
    19 years ago

TAO:

I'll have to see if I can find that book in a library to try to glean some pointers from it. Also, many cinder blocks today *do* still contain fly ash as a major component, so the old term isn't as outdated as one might think, its still the cheapest way for a plant to get rid of a waste product they'd otherwise have to pay to dispose of...

• pdxjules