Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ribbit32004

Carrots

ribbit32004
15 years ago

Are these possibly THE slowest growing vegetables in the world? Actually, they may be surpassed by beets, but I've yet to come to a definitive conclusion.

Comments (10)

• daves_girl
    15 years ago

Well, I have no knowledge of beets, but my carrot sprouts finally broke through the surface after a month. Still no true leaves yet...

• dutchess_9
    15 years ago

It's torture isn't it! One of my favorite veggies and I have to wait soooo long for them! At first, I thought I was doing something wrong...but nope! They are worth it though.

I tried a beet I bought from the store the other day. I did a food survey with my students to see what foods they have eaten and most of them had not tried beets. So I thought it my duty to have them try beets.

I have had pickled beets (which I liked)but not raw. So anyway....I tried them raw and I did NOT like them. I knew my kids would not like them either...so that veggie was not tried...instead I took asparagus for them to try...which some of them liked.

Do you have a good recipe for beets that is yummy?

Here is a link that might be useful: How my garden grows!

• ribbit32004
    Original Author
    15 years ago

nope. My father used to make borscht, but I never liked it. Beets are purple.

The girl wanted something purple. We now have beets.

She's lost interest already. I still have beets.

I'd replace them with something faster growing, but oh no. Now, it's me versus the beet. I will grow that booger. :)

• organic_tx_gardener
    15 years ago

In my opinion, the best recipe for beets involves the greens rather than the roots. Wash the beet tops and chop - coarse is fine. Saute some onion and/or garlic; then add the beet greens and saute lightly. Add salt and red pepper flakes (or other seasoning) to taste. Add chicken broth, and simmer until soft.

Yummy!

• sinfonian
    15 years ago