Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
new_bee

Ready to start organic garden but overwhelmed....long post.

new_bee
15 years ago

Finally got DH's go-ahead to start a veggie garden (I'm three-months pregnant so really need his help this year. :-) I am butterflies-in-the-stomach excited but also horribly overwhelmed by the prospect. I am a project manager in my work-life so I've listed out the steps I *think* I need to go through. Thanks for taking the time to read and share your thoughts.

1) Have soil tested. We're in a new development and have concerns about backfill being used in our yard.

2) Start compost pile. Posted on the soil forum for suggestions on a "nice looking" composter and composting ideas.

3) Determine square footage needed for a garden. We are currently a family of 3. No clue how much space we will need (or how much energy I will have at 7 & 8 months pregnant, in July and August heat, to maintain my garden.)

3b) Determine appropriate amount of plants to plant per square foot. Again, no clue.

4) Start seeds or find local nurseries. (Am I too late for seeds in Northern Virginia? Should I go with plants this year?)

5) Contact local co-op to determine appropriate planting time and plan accordingly.

6) Determine best place for a garden. While fenced in, my yard backs to woods so deer are a HUGE issue.

7) Order dirt to fill-in raised bed and amend soil. Suggestions on organic sources?

8) Frame out raised bed, although I want it almost at ground level. No clue what building materials to use. Want it to look attractive (darn HOA) but do not want to use any chemically treated wood.

9) Etch out veggie garden spot and either rent tilling machine or buy DH new pitchfork. Make hubby his favorite dinner for a week straight.

1. Plant veggies at appropriate time and mulch (can I just use wood mulch like we use for flower beds?)
  2. Weed, water, weed, water, etc...
  3. Eat veggies in 6-8 weeks. :-D

Comments (5)

• ribbit32004
    15 years ago