Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mattbgrays

Sowing seeds: How much water?

Matthew Grayson
10 years ago

This is my first year using drip in the raised bed I just built.

I have my bed on a 12" drip. The soil is a compost mix from Whittier Fertilizer and I'm wondering how long/often most people water while they're waiting for seeds to germinate. I've sewn collards, chard, cilantro, garlic chives, yu choy and gai lan.

I assume when plants are grown up a bit, you can do something like 90 minutes every other day (every day in the hot/dry SoCal summer). I imagine the water from each emitter emanates out like a cone as the soil soaks up the water. This is fine for plants with roots that can reach the cones, but with 12" spacing there seem to be lots of dry gaps up at the soil surface. If I go an inch down I find moisture.

I should mention that after 7-10 days I'm seeing sprouts, but I'm just wary that there are dry spots and those areas look less successful.

I've since changed to 30 minutes of water every 6 hours. Not sure if that's helping.

Do you water more often when sowing seeds?
Do you manually water with a gentle spray?

Would love to here if I'm doing anything wrong and what you all do.

Thanks!
Matt

Comments (4)

• Matthew Grayson
    Original Author
    10 years ago

(Bump)

Anybody have experience to share?

Thank you

• soughtseven1035
    10 years ago

I am not sure how to use a drip system. I believe that a drip system is not really needed unless you have tons of crops to water. If that is so, it depends on how much water comes out at a time.

The water needs to reach underneath the roots so that the roots can crawl to reach it. If the water is just on the surface, the roots will come up to the surface to drink. This doesn't produce healthy plants.