Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowerchild3

Can I trellis Zucchini?

flowerchild3
19 years ago

Hi, I'm a newbie to SFG this year. I was hoping to grow a couple zucchini plants. I was thinking that zucchini grew like squash and that they could be grown on a trellis. Is that true? The SFG book was kindof vague about it. It mentioned something about zucchini plants taking up half of a 4x4 square. How many plants can fit in a 4x4 square? So, is it a bush plant or something? I don't have a lot of sunny yard space so I have to grow large sprawling plants on trellises.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Comments (9)

• giardiniere
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Zucchini is not a vine, so it won't trellis. It has bush-type qualities, and does take up a bit of space. I would make a small hill or mound of soil and compost, about 1-1 feet in diameter. Plant 5-6 seeds around the hill, and thin to two or three.

• Michael_ut
    19 years ago

Zucchini does very well in tomato cages, the comercial inverted cone type. I suggest you use the large size of cage. as the plant grows help work it up through the cage. I feel this gives it a very interesting look and assists with pest controll as the leaves are easier for me to reach and it holds them up off of the ground.

• Katzedecimal
    19 years ago

Mel does give more detail about trellising zucchini on his website. I plan to experiment with pattypan squash this year, to see if it can do the same trick ^_~

Is mise le meas
    -==- Katzedecimal

• Jacque_E_TX
    19 years ago

YEPPER!: Sure, you can stake summer squashes. I do it. My old neighbor's done it for 60-some years. (And a row gardener for all but the last two, too. Whew!)