Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alouwomack

Need Design Help...

alouwomack
14 years ago

Hello All,

I'm not new to gardening but I am new to Square Foot Gardening. I do have Mel's newest edition . . . so I've been studying it and taking notes. However, I'm still a little stumped on where to place the various vegetables I want to grow. I'm mostly intimidated by the placement of each plant variety due to individual height--creating too much shade, etc. The closeness of the squares/plants worries me!

My husband and I have built two 4X4 boxes. We placed them 3ft apart side by side -- running East to West. The boxes will essentially receive sun throughout the day (hot North Texas sun). We have the materials to build a 3rd box--which I think some might agree we'll need once they read the list of "hopeful's" below! We have room to add the 3rd box in any direction when related to the 2 we've already established . . .

I've purchased 8 indeterminate tomatoes, 2 cayenne peppers, and the following seeds: straight neck yellow squash (vine), lemon cucumber (vine), picklebush cucumber (bush), armenian cucumber (vine), spineless okra, dill, radish, green beans (bush), and black-eyed peas.

My original thought is planting from tallest to shortest--North to South. Does this sound logical? And the trellises . . . that's a whole other ballgame, huh?

I would love to hear any suggestions from all the seasoned Square Foot Gardeners! I'm ready to dive in but I need a little push in the right direction. Thanks ahead for anyone's input.

--Amber

Comments (13)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    14 years ago