Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rakin_gw

Nasturtiums - friend or foe?

rakin
10 years ago

This is my first year to plant vegetables (both SFG and containers). I was thinking of lining the front edge of the raised bed with nasturtiums as a deterrent for pests, but I am reading different opinions on their benefit. Some say they are good as a companion to deter pest. Others say they are a sacrificial plant.
Now, if the point is to use them to attract the pests away from the veggies, wouldn't that open me up to possibly attracting pests that would not have come otherwise? I have 8 seedlings almost ready to go, but I don't know what to do with them.
Also, how much space should I expect that they would take from a bed. I have an 8x4 bed and am only willing to lose 6 inches off the front. But only if it is worth it? The variety is papaya cream mix with a height of 12". I was hoping that they would just drape over the edge and give a nice look while also bringing some benefits. I will be planting ( from back to front) broccoli, lettuce, green onions, and carrots. Warm weather plantings will be tomatoe bush, and peppers. Any opinions?

Comments (7)

• slowjane CA/ Sunset 21
    10 years ago

I planted some in the fall and they grew super fast, to get devastated by worms, but grew back like crazy and are blooming profusely and beautifully. Good point about drawing pests to the garden just to feed them - like agricultural misdirection? Ha. I'll be interested to hear what folks have to say about that?

They are also beneficial for other reasons - they're pretty (not to be underestimated imo), edible - both leaves and blossoms, and draw all kinds of good pollinators... All part of keeping a diverse buffet for a diverse insect population.

But I am new to gardening and await other (more experienced?) input on this question....

• opossums5
    10 years ago