Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gmanar_gw

New SFG - please help

gmanar
11 years ago

Hi All,

We just bought our first home. I am interested in setting up sfg. It is my first time - but as a kid I have always been around veggie gardens in my backyard - so kinda know some things (very outdated :)

So as the first step I am planning to make the beds as picture suggests.

Total width of the lot is 60 ft. I want to make 4 - 10 X 4 beds (probably 2 ft deep). Each side (with adjoining neighbors) has 5 ft spacing. The center I left 4 ft for the walkway. Between beds on either sides I left 3 ft for walkway. I tried my best to represent it in the attached image. Also I plan to put may be stepping stones and make a boundary (lenght-wise) all along the beds.

Any suggestions/advice/help is greatly appreciated.
I will post more details for each of the bed soon.

Thanks and regards
G

Comments (3)

• Bryan Scott
    11 years ago

First, location- where are you?

Second, there are a few important things to consider before you build/place your beds.

1. Does this location get at least 6 hours of direct sun during the day? If not, you will have some problems with getting things to grow.

2. How are you planning on getting supplemental water to your beds? Are you just going to stretch a water hose over and hand water or do you plan on running a drip irrigation system of some sort? Either way, do some planning so that if you need to install something before you bring in all that dirt and walkway stuff...

3. Since you moved into the house, have you noticed any pollinators flying around like bees, wasps, ect... If not, you might end up having to do some hand-pollinating, depending on what you plant.