Return to the Square Foot Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Which 1 of my 4 tomato varieties would you put in your first SFG?

Posted by buggalinajujubee BayArea CA 9/14 (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 18, 10 at 18:33

I'm new to SFG and tomatoes.

I have a 4x4 bed, 12" deep, filled with Mel's Mix. It will have a trellis like the one in the book on the north side and I will plant 1 tomato and 1 cucumber on it.

I also have the more traditional raised bed with amended garden soil that will fit 3 tomatoes in cages and pole beans on a bamboo stick tepee.

The varieties I have ready to go are Brandywine, Watermelon Beefsteak, Yellow Pear, and Early Girl.

So since I have never grown any of these tomatoes before I can't tell you which ones I like the best and want to give the coveted SFG square to.

Suggestions?

Julie

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Which 1 of my 4 tomato varieties would you put in your first

Brandywine is my favorite out of those choices, but I've only grown that and Early Girl. Why not have more than just two plants on the trellis? If you're pruning to one stem like the book recommends, you should have plenty of room for 3 varieties and the cucumber if you space them out on the trellis.

o

I have never grown yellow pear (or any of the others), but my SIL did last year. She made us a h-u-g-e mixed salad that we ate on for days with all kinds of fixin's from her garden. She grew what seemed like a gazillion different tomatoes. Out of all of the ones she put in our salad, the yellow pear was our favorite. Very tasty and oh so cute !

o

I hear branywine is fantastic, but hit or miss with the yield, so if you can only do one, I may go for something more high yielding. Yellow pear is incredibly high yielding and so sweet. I'm not a cherry tomato lover, but these guys I can eat like candy.

o

You'll never keep a beefsteak or 'Brandywine' in a cage unless it is a super-duper heavy-duty cage.