Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sean546456

Recommendations on using existing garden bed

Sean546456
10 years ago

Hi everyone,

I would really appreciate your input in regards to whether or not I utilise an existing "raised" bed or whether I should build up, on top of it.

Basically I just moved into my new house. The front garden has raised beds built into the outside perimeter. I am new to gardening but want to start using the Square Foot Gardening method.

I was going to dig up this bed and add new compost/soil etc and plant there, but I want to know if you would recommend for or against this concept.

The other option I am guessing it to add wooden square foot beds "on top" of this existing bed.

Thoughts and and feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Sean

Comments (3)

• myfrozenlittlepond
    10 years ago

I would start over. That way you can choose the size of your gardens and their placement. The low edge of rocks in the picture doesn't give you much of a side to your raised bed. You will need to build a complete bed so that fence isn't used as the back of the bed. Can't quite tell from the picture but could you use the low wall as one wall of your bed? Remember not to make the beds too wide, since you can't access from the fence side. And make sure that it will receive adequate light and not be shaded by the fence too much. If the fence is yours, perhaps it would make a good location for a trellis to gain some vertical growing space. Good luck!

• Sean546456
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hmm,

Thank you for your time and suggestions. This area will get a lot of sunlight regardless of the fence.

I was thinking I would section off a 4x4 foot area within this bed by simply mounting some cheap timber into the soil to section it off.

I guess my real question relates to the soil and "raised" method.