Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mcmarsh_gw

Seed germination...when to thin

mcmarsh
15 years ago

I'm new to gardening and this will be my first year.

I'm growing plants from seed and have been successful thus far. My question is, when do I cut back the seedlings to the strongest one. I planted 5-10 seeds per small peat pot as instructed and have many seedlings in each. Should I cut back all but one now...or later. Or, should I try to thin those and re-pot later on?

Hopefully this is coherent :)

Michelle

Comments (13)

• mcmarsh
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I guess I should add that the seeds sprouted about 2 days ago and they have been under lights ever since.

• anniesgranny
    15 years ago

I would wait a bit before cutting the seedlings off. Give them time to show who is going to be the strongest, which will be the one to save. Some things transplant well, others don't. I'm not sure I would take the chance of losing all of them by disturbing the roots too much, especially if they are really close together. Unless they were planted in straight vermiculite...then you can just pluck them out and replant. In any case, I would definitely wait until they develop a set of true leaves.

Granny

Here is a link that might be useful: Annie's Kitchen Garden

• zuni
    15 years ago

I don't agree with Granny. Cut out (don't pull) all but one sprout as soon as possible. This will eliminate any competition and increase your chances of producing a strong seedling. Next time, use only 2 seeds per pot. There's no reason to put so many in to start.

• rlkennerly
    15 years ago

I have the same question. I direct seeded my green beans to my garden and they sprouted about a week ago. Is it time to thin them now? Here's a pic...

I'm sure the answer is yes, but I mostly just wanted to show off my green beans. :)

Rachel

• eaglesgarden
    14 years ago

Rachel,

Are these beans bush or pole? 9/sqft bush...8/sqft pole.