Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
holly_devito

SFG above and below retaining walls

Holly DeVito
15 years ago

Hi everyone!

I've been lurking here for about a month. It seems like I have read every post in the SFG forum.

I'm new to SFG and to growing vegetables at all. We have remodeled our house and this will be our second year that we have been working on it. It's been one project after the next, in between getting married and having a baby. Anyway. . .

I have a 7' high retaining wall and then a 8' space and then a 4' high retaining wall. I put my SFG in the 8' space. I have 3 3'x4' beds with 2 3'x1' in between them. They are right above the 7' retaining wall. I'm looking for plants to grow in the 1' beds that will hang over the wall.

I was thinking zucchini instead of trellising it. Would that work? Would I need something to support the zukes? The wall is cement, so I'm not sure if that would work. I was also thinking rosemary and thyme, but I think those will take a long time to grow.

Any ideas or thoughts on my layout would be great!

http://picasaweb.google.com/HollyDeVito777/PlantingBeds#

Here's the pictures.

Comments (13)

• engineeredgarden
    15 years ago

holldoll - I really like how you have taken advantage of the available space! Kinda like gardening on a rooftop. If you wanted to plant a zucchini in the middle of that box, I think it would be ok. It has plenty of room to bush out, and the roots can run to both sides. However, you're gonna want to stabilize the plant somehow - to keep it from falling over later. (And it will, in the mel's mix.)Check out some of snibb's photos from previous threads, as he has no problems with trellising them.

EG

• Holly DeVito
    Original Author
    15 years ago