Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gayriogrower

Plant Families,

gayriogrower
14 years ago

Ok, so I was just wondering how many and how often you planted different vegetables? Ex. I heard it was best to stagger your crops, planting say a block of carrots every few weeks so you could harvest them over a longer period of time. But how do you guys do it? How many blocks of each vegetable do you o through in each bed over a season? I just want to get an idea of what is normal.

I have a house of 6 here, and we all love fruit and vegetables, and we also have a decent sized yard to work. I haven't built any boxes yet, but I was planning on like 5-6 4'x8' beds, over a period of time. Since I am new to this I don't want to over do it, so I was planning on building one or two boxes, then building the rest when I have more experience. So I guess another question is how many square feet would I need to provide for a family of 6? Sorry for the ramble.

Comments (6)

• gayriogrower
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Sorry the title has nothing to do with the question. I started a question about something else and erased it, but left the title.

• curt_grow
    14 years ago