Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bari779

Weed barrier question - it is under my SFG box.....

bari779
14 years ago

I am a newbie to SFG and have made my first two beds (both 4x8) after reading Mel's "All New SFG" book. After reading the book here is how I constructed my boxes - they are made out of 2-by lumber and are 8" high (or deep, depending on how you look at it). Because we have a LOT of bermuda and highly invasive grasses in our yard, I put down weed barrier. The weed barrier is also UNDER the boxes. I didn't think anything of it as Mel says you can also make containers with fixed bottoms and shouldn't have a problem.

I just found this forum tonight and have been reading and now am questioning what I did. Am I going to have problems with my plants not being able to grow? I planned on putting in all the normal garden stuff including corn, beans, peas, lettuce, etc. Is there anything I should NOT plant in these beds?

I have the Mel's mix in place already so it would be difficult to cut out the weed barrier without a lot of work. I guess I could try to pull it out from under after lifting up the sides of the box. I was planning on planting tomorrow!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Bari

Comments (7)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    14 years ago

The roots will not go thru the weed barrier, altho I'll wager the bermuda will make it up through if not this year then next.

Nonetheless, you have 8" of soil depth. Good enough for most crops, but you'll need to watch your soil moisture.

Dan

• bari779
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you for the reply, Dan. I have been doing more research and have decided I am going to have to remove the soil from each bed, move the frames and take up the weed barrier. I do have some cardboard boxes I can use to put down under the boxes instead.

I am discouraged and it will be a lot of extra work, but better to do it now I think. I don't have anything planted yet, so....