Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
docbuttons

Irrigating my SFG?

docbuttons
15 years ago

Hello, I'm a second year SFGardener...I'd like to hear anyone's opinion about how you irrigate your SFG. I'm unsure if I should be looking to do drip irrigation, or setup a timer to run every morning for ??? minutes a day, etc etc. Please let me know your best/favorite way to irrigate. I work in retail, so my schedule is crazy and so me watering by hand every day, though probably the best decision is not really an option for now anyways...so I'm looking for easy and effective.

Comments (7)

• snibb
    15 years ago

doc..I agree with you. If you have 1 or 2 gardens, watering by hand is best. But, if you have more, it becomes pretty incovenient. I have a drip irrigation system that was custom made by the same lady who is(will be)selling it through the SFG foundation. She can do the same for you when she knows your layout-number of boxes, where your water source will be, space between boxes, etc. I have an automatic timer on it, so, I do next to nothing as far as watering. I go on vacation and dont worry about it. I water for 7 minutes every day, and 7 minutes twice a day in the dead of summer. The cost of the timer was the most money-$30. Other than that, I think it cost me something like $30 to set it all up. You can take a look at some of the pictures in photobucket to get an idea. Photobucket is a new experience for me, but, Im learning..drip irrigation-the only way to go for multiple boxes if you can afford it...

http://s292.photobucket.com/albums/mm14/snobblet/

• snibb
    15 years ago

doc...if you go back into photobucket, I have added a few mroe detailed pictures of the drip system..hope it gives you some ideas..

• bdobs
    15 years ago

I'm planning on running a similar system on my box.
    I will run a 1/2" main feed running the length of my box, secured to the top with 1/2" conduit clamps.
    At HD, I found some 1/4" line with built in drippers every 6".