Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brownli

Suggestions for my Potatoes, please?

brownli
15 years ago

Please advise on options for my potato plants.

At the last second of starting my new garden - I decided- what the heck and threw in a few seed potatoes - my soil is 8 inches deep. I only planted in 2 squares - really assuming not to expect much growth/success as I'm new to gardening. Well, I have quite a bit of growth (as tall as 6 inches on some) with the potatoes and now am uncertain what to do next.

What I've read is a mix of methods...of course...gotta love you guys....

Here's a pic of my potatoes:

From Square Foot Gardening

I've read some on the bins - and well, I didn't start/plan for that. I could add more soil - ya know mounding as such, but my DH is away on business for the next 2 weeks so I'm without my handsome, handy man to build another layer of box, I don't know how successful this would be - I'd hope ok in the short term until he returns.

So I guess my questions are:

1) What happens if I do nothing....?

2) Would mounding the soil at this time (since they are already pretty tall) net me more success? As a newby here, I've set my expectations accordingly - but would like to see at least some worthy potatoes.

3) Just what is happening under the soil? I have my potatoes in the same box with other plants with no physical division of space from top of soil down. Do potatoes sprawl under the surface? And is sprawl really a word? I digress.

Again, any advice is welcome.

Linda

Comments (11)

• engineeredgarden
    15 years ago

Linda - jbest123 had unbelievable results with potatoes in his garden last year. Best I can remember, he didn't mound them at all. Also, I think granny told us a while back, that they are only hilled with more soil, to keep sunlight from getting to the tubers. Apparently they are "green" if that happens. I have taters in my sfg, and just mounded as much as possible -which is probably about 6".

EG

• brownli