Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lowraine

Wood mulch

lowraine
15 years ago

Can we discuss different types of wood mulch that can be used around the raised beds? I have redwood, cherry, walnut and cypress from time to time. I have discounted the walnut because it is harmful to breath therefore, I figure it can't be good for the plants. I also made my boxes with spruce pine and another pine that I had that is harder and heavier. I know they will not last but later I will probably replace them with cypress.

Comments (9)

• homertherat
    15 years ago

I'm not an expert by any means, but I don't know if any of them will be harmful to your plants. If you're just paving a path or whatever then I don't know how it would be harmful.

I think that any mulch would be fine.

• cjtinkle
    15 years ago

Gosh I hope it's okay, I'm nearly finished mulching around our new raised beds. I used cypress.

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:1269431}}

• mustard_seeds
    15 years ago

wow CJ - what a nice job!

• mike_in_paradise
    15 years ago

I just use the mulch from whatever I put through the wood chipper and also the leftover sawdust from my woodworking.

I would not use walnut.

• lowraine
    Original Author
    15 years ago

,jtinkle, nice looking garden, I also like yours Mike. Looks like none of us like to go small. I haven't mulched between the beds yet because my sawdust at the moment has walnut mixed in with cherry and cypress. I could go buy something but I am trying not to do that. I pick up my mel's mix today.

• greenbean08_gw
    15 years ago

lowraine,
    Is free mulch available in your area? Here, the county has a place I can get it. Check with your city or county. Was there Christmas tree recycling in your area? There may be mulch available...

Here is a link that might be useful: Tales of a Transplanted Gardener

• cjtinkle
    15 years ago