Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yesika_1999

june bearing strawberry runners-trim or not?

yesika_1999
14 years ago

Hi All,

I'm new to gardening and have come across conflicting information on June bearing strawberries. I am going to be planting them in a raised bed (it's 5x10-too big for true SFG I realize now but I don't dare make my husband change it). The information I got from the extension office said that on June bearing strawberries I should leave all of the runners but now I'm reading in various posts here that I should trim all of the runners and keep individual plants-planted 4/square.

Also, any input on pinching the flowers off the first year? Some say it doesn't matter but the extension office stuff says I need to pinch them.

Any advice would be great!

Jessica

Comments (11)

• homertherat
    14 years ago

Well, if you let them spread, you will lose all control on your patch and you will get worse quality berries compared to if you cut them.

If you let them spread and root, you can cut the connection to the parent plant and plant the new plant in a pot to use next year or to replace not so good looking plants.

I would cut them. You shouldn't need to replace the plants for at least a year or two, so you shouldn't need to plant them. Just chuck them into the compost pile.

• beginnerkelli
    14 years ago

i've been researching the same thing. i kept the berry plants i bought in pots and i've cut the runners. i heard that allows the plant to use its energy on flowering and producing fruit. i put one runner in a bowl with water. i'm going to see if it will root and then i'll try to plant it. i probably should have waited for the runner to root first in the soil. oh well - next time i'll do that!

i've also heard you should pinch the flowers the first year but i just can't bear to do it!

• homertherat
    14 years ago