Return to the Square Foot Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Can I grow cabbage next to tomatoes?

Posted by southerntransplant Colorado (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 27, 09 at 21:10

This is my first year to try square foot gardening. Based on some of the diagrams in the square foot gardening book, it looks like you can grow cabbage next to tomatoes. However, I've read elsewhere that cabbage (including kohlrabi) should NOT be grown next to tomatoes. Is this true? and if so, how far apart should cabbage/kohlrabi be grown from tomatoes? Thanks for your help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Can I grow cabbage next to tomatoes?

You can grow whatever you want wherever you want. As long as the cabbage isn't shaded by the tomatoes, you'll be fine.

o

A link to where it says you can't would be useful to help you sort this out.

o

I disagree with homertherat. Sorry. This is companion planting, and some plants don't fare well next to one another.

I would google "Companion planting" and specifically, brassicas and tomatoes. I do believe that there is an issue with kohlrabi and tomatoes, and cabbage are related to them...I wouldn't plant them too close, BUT at the same time, the cabbage will be removed before the tomatoes roots really get a chance to spread. BUT, the problem is supposed to be stunted root growth, and since in SFG the roots are already limited in space, you may not want to chance it.

o

It depends on which website/book you read. I just Googled "companion planting" and got about equal opinions. Some said cabbage shouldn't be planted with tomatoes, some said cabbage and tomatoes were excellent companions. I planted some leftover cabbage seedlings in my tomato bed this year, as I didn't have anywhere else to put them. I guess we'll see if they are compatible or not.

Here is a link that might be useful: Annie's Kitchen Garden

o