Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annabel644

Question about soil beneath beds

annabel644
15 years ago

Hello, all!

I am new to Garden Web (and new to gardening!)

I recently purchased a home with 2 acres in Northern MN, and I am planning on making a few square foot beds, as I know very little about preparing and "fixing" poor soil, and my yard has been neglected for many years.

My question is - what do I have to do to prepare the ground underneath the beds? I have hard clay soil, so I can only imagine it is probably 0-0-0! I have seen a lot of recommendations of just laying down newspaper and then putting the mix on top of that, but I feel like my roots are going to grow down into the crappy soil and then I'll be in trouble! I know that there is a lot of debate about rototilling, but I'm wondering if I should at least loosen up the soil underneath my beds and mix them with some compost.

I am planning on growing some of the basics - tomatoes, potatoes, peas, beans, carrots, lettuce, etc.

Thanks for any and all advice!

Comments (12)

• jeremyjs
    15 years ago

Nothing wrong with clay. My mom's been growing in it for years. The only place you run into real problems is when you try to grow root crops.

• liisa_rwc
    15 years ago

Annabel,

Welcome! I'm also new to vegetable gardening and also have clay soil under my beds. I think the first question would be, how deep are your beds going to be? If 12" or more I wouldn't worry about your ground soil too much. If less than 12" you may want to work 3 to 5" down. My 8" bed is on 3 to 4" of worked soil and my 12" beds... well the back half of the beds are worked about 4 to 5 " and the front half not at all. Long story. So far everything seems to be happy. You can check out my beds on my blog.

I'm sure one of the more experienced gardeners will give you some good advice.

Enjoy your Garden.

Liisa

Here is a link that might be useful: Liisa's Garden Journey

• Holly DeVito
    15 years ago