Return to the Square Foot Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cherry Tomatoes in SFG- should I single-stem?

Posted by newbie468 7B (GA) (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 5, 14 at 22:35

Hello all,

As the name implies, I am brand new to gardening and have decided to start off using the square foot gardening method.

I have a question about indeterminate cherry tomatoes- my two 4x4 beds currently get 4 hours of full sun (11am-3pm) with dappled morning and afternoon shade. Since I have such limited space and full sun, I am wondering what would be the ideal spacing/number of tomato plants. I was thinking of doing 1 tomato per 12in. and pruning to a single stem. I know 4 hours of full sun may be pushing it, but it gets hot and humid in GA so I want to try. Any advise is appreciated! Thank you.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cherry Tomatoes in SFG- should I single-stem?

1 plant per square pruned to 1 stem is what I've been doing for a few years now and wouldn't do it any other way.
I've even allowed 2 stems to grow. I've done this with all my indeterminate tomato plants from cherries to beefsteaks. my beds are 4'x4' w/ a 4' wide trellis 7' high.

o

Your garden is lovely! That set-up is almost exactly how I envision mine. Thank you very much for the information.

o

Stevin-I am growing a few indeterminate cherries. Both the black cherry and snow white have come up with multiple stems---maybe I did something wrong when I planted them? Either way, I am wondering if I should let the stems go or trim back to one. I don't want to kill the plants as the stems are clearly all part of one plant. Any help from you or others would be appreciated. Steve

o