Return to the Square Foot Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Intro and questions about lettuce and corn

Posted by adoptioncounts Indiana (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 22, 10 at 22:56

Hello, I'm new here and though I've attempted gardening before and my whole family are crop farmers, I can't say I've ever been very successful. Needless to say, I was excited when I discovered SFG although I have limited knowledge.

I built four 4x4 boxes and one 2x8 box. They are almost 18 inches deep with a fabric weed barrier underneath the soil. (I hope that's okay..) The soil itself is about 15 inches deep. (Is this deep enough?)

So, about lettuce. I got plants from Lowes whose leaves were already quite large (4-6 inches) and when I planted them I went ahead and harvested those leaves about an inch above the soil. Now I'm wondering if I should have done that. How big does leaf lettuce get before you harvest some? How long does it keep coming back? It is buttercrisp I believe but now it's dark and I don't want to go out to look.

Secondly, how much sweet corn could I plant in the 2x8 box? Would it be worth the trouble? I was thinking you only get one ear per stalk per year but I can't remember and I'm too embarrassed to ask a family member. (Insert sheepish grin.)

I have never done a garden that actually worked and though I've been reading more general gardening books all winter, all the knowledge is now a blur in my head. This seems much easier to deal with than a typical garden though so I'm hopeful. Thanks in advance for the advice!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Intro and questions about lettuce and corn

The 15" depth is good.